Jenna’s Interview

Hello everyone! I’m here to explain you my experiences for having an interview with someone for my GSR research paper. Last Friday, I made a presence into the ASL Pride march. There were pretty many people, including Gallaudet students, alumnus, and other people stayed together to walk from Gallaudet University to the White House. From my own eyes, it was amazingly wow to see many of protesters held the signs, “ASL Pride!” One of the pictures on the flag is a hand; it symbolizes as the significance of having hands to sign our beautiful language, ASL (American Sign Language). It really inspired me to feel the bond with other activists. The march itself only lasted for like 4 hours. Until last Sunday, I made an appointment to have an interview with a person named Radoslava Slavova at Gallaudet’s library. She also was at the protest where I was in. I started with an opening question: “How did you feel?”  Her respond, “I was getting little emotional because my happy tears were beyond my control. I’m very fortunate to be an ASL user. My second question: What is the purpose of having this protest? “The purpose of having this protest is to spread the words to the world to prove that ASL is the real language. Mostly, the hearing people think it is not but it is! It was a nice chat with her at the same time I compared my perspective to hers. It was very interesting!

Leave a Reply

